Up for the Challenge

Whit Hagerman, Brittany Kalkstein, and Kaitlin DuffWhen it comes to a tough schedule, Virginia Women's Lacrosse Head Coach Julie Myers is definitely up for the challenge. She revealed her 2010 schedule yesterday, and from the looks of it, the Lady Cavs are gunning for the respect they deserve.

If you look at the schedule, you'll see that it features six games that made it to the postseason last year, including both the Division I finalists. Eight of the teams finished last season ranked in the top 20 of the IWLCA polls. Virginia finished 10th. (Just for fun and FYI, Virginia Tech was nowhere to be found in the poll.)

The ACC tournament will be held at Maryland this year, but that's not our last stop before the NCAAs. We've got a game at Northwestern, current champions in between the two tournaments to prep us for the big dance. I have a feeling that we'll be meeting them again for the NCAA Finals.

The team will be led by senior cpatains Katilin Duff, Whitaker Hagerman, and Brittany Kalkstein, "great players with a tremendous amount of experience," according to Coach Myers. Duff and Kalkstein areboth All-Americans, at midfielder and defensive midfielder respectively. Hagerman, redshirt senior attacker, tallied 25 goals for the Cavaliers last season.

Season and individual game tickets go on sale January 4. Here is the schedule:

Date

Opponent

Location

Time (ET)

Sat, Feb 20

Loyola

Charlottesville, Va.

1 p.m.

Wed, Feb 24

Richmond

Charlottesville, Va.

7 p.m.

Sat, Feb 27

Syracuse

Charlottesville, Va.

Noon

Fri, Mar 05

Maryland *

at College Park, Md.

7 p.m.

Sun, Mar 07

Penn State

at State College, Pa.

1 p.m.

Sat, Mar 13

North Carolina *

Charlottesville, Va.

1 p.m.

Wed, Mar 17

William & Mary

at Williamsburg, Va.

7 p.m.

Sat, Mar 20

Princeton

at Princeton, N.J.

Noon

Wed, Mar 24

James Madison

Charlottesville, Va.

7 p.m.

Sun, Mar 28

Duke *

at Durham, N.C.

1 p.m.

Wed, Mar 31

Old Dominion

Charlottesville, Va.

7 p.m.

Sat, Apr 03

Boston College *

Charlottesville, Va.

1 p.m.

Mon, Apr 05

Harvard

Charlottesville, Va.

7 p.m.

Wed, Apr 07

Virginia Tech *

at Blacksburg, Va.

7 p.m.

Tue, Apr 13

George Mason

Charlottesville, Va.

7 p.m.

Thu, Apr 22

ACC Quarterfinals

at College Park, Md.

1/3:30 p.m.

Fri, Apr 23

ACC Semifinals

at College Park, Md.

3:30/5 p.m.

Sun, Apr 25

ACC Finals

at College Park, Md.

1 p.m.

Fri, Apr 30

Northwestern

at Evanston, Ill.

7 p.m.

Sun, May 16

NCAA 1st Round

at TBD

TBD

Sat, May 22

NCAA 2nd Round

at TBD

TBD

Fri, May 28

NCAA Semifinals

at Towson, Md.

TBD

Sun, May 30

NCAA Finals

at Towson, Md.

TBD

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Streaking The Lawn

You must be a member of Streaking The Lawn to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Streaking The Lawn. You should read them.

Join Streaking The Lawn

You must be a member of Streaking The Lawn to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Streaking The Lawn. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker