Will Bates, Morgan Brian and Caroline Miller named to 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Three Cavaliers were named to the 2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List today, as announced by the Missouri Athletic Club and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. On the men's side, senior forward Will Bates represents the Cavaliers, while on the women's side, the Hoos are represented by sophomore midfielder Morgan Brian and senior forward Caroline Miller. The MAC Herman Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Before his season was cut short due to an knee injury on October 21 last year, Bates ranked seventh nationally in goals. He finished the season ranked 13th nationally in goals and 15th in points. He was named to the NSCAA All-South Region second team and All-ACC first team.

Virginia is one of just nine schools with two players to the women's watch list. Brian is one of just nine players who were named at least a semifinalist last year. She was named the Soccer America National Freshman of the Year, ACC Freshman of the Year, NSCAA All-American first team, and Soccer America MVP second team, among other awards.

Miller started 22 of 24 games last season and racked up such accolades as NSCAA All-American third team, NSCAA All-Southeast Region first team, and All-ACC first team.She tied for ACC lead with seven goals in conference play.

Each list will be narrowed down by NSCAA members from Division I programs to 15 semifinalists by November 29. Member coaches and, for the first time ever, fans will then vote for their top three choices and the finalists will be announced December 6. The winners will be announced at the awards' banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club on Friday, Jan. 11.

The full watch lists follow the jump.

2012 NSCAA Men's MAC Hermann Award Watch List

Player Class Pos. School Hometown
Sammy Adjei Jr. F Iona Newark, N.J.
Carlos Alvarez Sr. M Connecticut Los Angeles
Borja Barbero So. GK Iona Valladolid, Spain
Will Bates Sr. F Virginia Chester, Va.
Nathaniel Bekoe Jr. M Fordham Accra, Ghana
Ashton Bennett* Sr. F Coastal Carolina Claredon, Jamaica
Andrew Blake So. GK Connecticut May Pen, Jamaica
Brendon Burgdorf Sr. F Bucknell Westfield, N.J.
Scott Caldwell Sr. M Akron Braintree, Mass.
Franklin Castellanos Jr. M Iona Dover, N.J.
Marvcello Castro Sr. D Sacred Heart Parana, Brazil
Marc Cintron Sr. M Providence Piscataway, N.J.
Ryan Clark Sr. M Monmouth Freehold, N.J.
Liam Collins Jr. M Memphis Skibbereen, Ireland
Leonardo Fernandes Sr. M Stony Brook North Babylon, N.Y.
Shaun Foster Jr. D Hofstra Southport, England
Victor Francoz Sr. GK Old Dominion Fleurieu Sur Saone, France
Tyler Gibson Jr. M Charlotte Knoxville, Tenn.
Simon Gomez Jr. F Dusquesne Manizales, Colombia
Nick Hagglund Jr. D Xavier Cincinnati
Chris Hegngi Sr. F Ohio State Silver Spring, Md.
Coleton Henning Sr. M Furman Shawnee, Kan.
Taylor Kemp Sr. D Maryland Highlands Ranch, Colo.
Jonathan Mendoza Sr. M Stetson Altamonte Springs, Fla.
Steve Neumann Jr. F Georgetown New Hope, Pa.
Oscar Otto Sr. F Iona Willingshore, N.J.
James Price Sr. D Saint Francis (Pa.) Christchurch, New Zealand
Jonny Raj Sr. D Fairfield Auckland, New Zealand
Pedro Ribeiro Jr. M Coastal Carolina Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Devon Sandoval Sr. F New Mexico Albuquerque, N.M.
Eric Schoenle Sr. D West Virginia Yardley, Pa.
Mark Sherrod* Jr. F Memphis Knoxville, Tenn.
Patrick Slogic Jr. D Cornell Colorado Springs, Colo.
Yannick Smith* Sr. F Old Dominion Hillsborough, N.J.
John Stertzer Sr. M Maryland Oakton, Va.
Kyle Venter Sr. D New Mexico Aurora, Colo.
Lee Williams Sr. D Appalachian State Liverpool, England
Reece Wilson Sr. F Central Connecticut London, England
Paul Wyatt Sr. M James Madison Modbury, England
Gyasi Zardes* Jr. F CSU Bakersfield Hawthorne, Calif.
Eriq Zaveleta So. F Indiana Westfield, Ind.
Walker Zimmerman So. D Furman Lawrenceville, Ga.

* 2011 Hermann Award Semifinalist

2012 NSCAA Women's MAC Hermann Award Watch List

Player Class Pos. School Hometown
Caitlin Alves Sr. M Hartford Ludlow, Mass.
Natasha Anasi* Jr. D Duke Arlington, Texas
Audrey Bledsoe Jr. GK Wake Forest Cincinnati
Morgan Brian* So. M Virginia St. Simon's Island, Ga.
Chelsea Buckland Sr. F Oregon State Vancouver, British Columbia
Zakiya Bywaters Sr. M UCLA Las Vegas
Abigail Dahlkemper So. D UCLA Menlo Park, Calif.
Vanessa DiBernardo Jr. M Illinois Naperville, Ill.
Crystal Dunn Jr. M North Carolina Rockville Center, N.Y.
Christine Exeter Jr. F Louisville Pickering, Ontario
Adrianna Franch* Sr. GK Oklahoma State Salina, Kan.
Kelsey Haycook So. F LaSalle Point Pleasant, N.J.
Maya Hayes# Jr. F Penn State West Orange, N.J.
Ines Jaurena* Sr. D Florida State Charenton-le-Pont, France
Tishia Jewell Sr. F Central Florida Satellite Beach, Fla.
Julie Johnston* Jr. M Santa Clara Mesa, Ariz.
Maegan Kelly Jr. M/F Marquette Kansas City, Mo.
Kaitlyn Kerr Jr. M Duke Bensalem, Pa.
Nadia Link Sr. F Long Beach State Walnut, Calif.
Lindsi Lisonbee Sr. D Brigham Young Park City, Utah
Bry McCarthy Sr. D West Virginia Ajax, Ontario
Tiffany McCarty* Sr. F Florida State Laurel, Md.
Kristen Mewis Sr. M Boston College Hanson, Mass.
Caroline Miller Sr. F Virginia Rockville, Md.
Kelley Monogue So. F Texas A&M McKinney, Texas
Christine Nairn Sr. M Penn State Arnold, Md.
Alexa Newfield Jr. M Georgia Atlanta
Christabel Oduro Jr. F Memphis Brampton, Ontario
Emily Oliver Jr. GK Stanford Flossmoor, Ill.
Michelle Pao Jr. D Pepperdine Cupertino, Calif.
Erin Quinlan Jr. GK Hartford Saugus, Mass.
Katie Stengel* Jr. F Wake Forest Melbourne, Fla.
Mallory Schaffer* Sr. M William & Mary Allison Park, Pa.
Erika Tymrak Sr. M Florida Lakewood Ranch, Fla.
Becca Wann Jr. F Richmond Chesterfield, Va.
Renee Washington Jr. M LaSalle Ewing, N.J.
Colleen Williams Sr. F Dayton Titusville, N.J.
Kathryn Williamson Sr. D Florida McKinney, Texas

* 2011 Hermann Award Semifinalist
# 2011 Hermann Award Finalist

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Streaking The Lawn

You must be a member of Streaking The Lawn to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Streaking The Lawn. You should read them.

Join Streaking The Lawn

You must be a member of Streaking The Lawn to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Streaking The Lawn. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.