clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Virginia’s Monica Wright Named to Lowe’s Senior CLASS Candidate List

Monica Wright, courtesy Associated PressGREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke’s Joy Cheek and Virginia’s Monica Wright were tabbed as candidates for the 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award™, as announced Wednesday by Premier Sports Management. The two seniors were among 30 NCAA women’s basketball players designated as candidates for the honor, which is given to student-athletes who excel both on and off the court.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Cheek, a forward from Charlotte, N.C., has made 40 career starts for Duke over the last two years. The senior, who averaged 8.5 points, 4.7 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game last season, interned at the White House over the summer of 2009, working in the Office of the Vice President and Economic Policy.

Wright led the ACC in scoring last season (20.5 points per game) and was recently named an Associated Press Preseason All-American and the ACC Preseason Player of the Year. The Woodbridge, Va., native is also a candidate for the Wade and Naismith Trophies as well as the Wooden Award. Wright is active in the Cavaliers’ community service efforts, as well as being successful in the classroom.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner for men’s basketball at the 2010 NCAA Men’s Final Four® in Indianapolis in April and for women’s basketball at the 2010 NCAA Women’s Final Four® in San Antonio in April. The two lists of 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists each midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.