clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wright Named One of 12 Finalists for Wade Trophy

Virginia guard Monica Wright (Woodbridge, Va.) was named one of 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy, the State Farm Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Assocation (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced.

Wright finished her career with a school-record 2,540 points and led the Atlantic Coast Conference in scoring by averaging 23.7 points per game. She was named the ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, becoming just the second woman to win both major conference awards in the same season.

Wright is also on the final national ballot for the Wooden Award, and was named an All-Region nominee for the 2010 State Farm Coaches' All-America Team.

Her 2009-10 accolades also include a spot on the All-ACC first team and the ACC All-Tournament second team. Prior to this season, Wright was named to the Associated Press Preseason All-America team.

Wright holds Virginia's school record for field goals made (962), and ranks in the top five in school history for steals (372) and in the top 10 for rebounds (764). She is the second player in school history to register at least 2,000 points, 700 rebounds, 350 steals and 300 assists (Dawn Staley is the other).

She set the single-season scoring record with 734 points this season, and finished her career at No. 3 on the ACC's all-time scoring list.

"This is definitely a time of year that I look forward to annually as I get to announce the 12 finalists for The State Farm Wade Trophy," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "The prestige of this award goes without saying, and I can only imagine how excited these 12 student-athletes are to be on this list."

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I State Farm Coaches' All-America Team and will be announced at the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention in San Antonio, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four. The announcement, which is open to the public, will be made on Saturday, April 3, 2010, at 2:05 p.m. ET on Center Court at the Alamodome.