clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Christensen named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Virginia senior Mei Christensen (Reston, Va.) has been tabbed the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Additionally, nine women joined Christensen as members of the All-ACC Academic Team.

Candidates for scholar-athlete of the year must have maintained a grade-point average of 3.0 for each of the last two semesters and for their careers, while All-ACC Academic team members must have earned a 3.0 GPA for the fall semester and maintained a 3.0 for their careers, with selection based on athletic merit.

Christensen is the sixth member of the women's team to be named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the first since Amy Baly won the award in 2004.

Christensen earned her second consecutive ACC Women's Swimmer of the Year honor last month and was a seven-time All-ACC performer and five-time All-American this season. She won both the 100 back and 200 back at the conference championship in addition to taking third-place honors in the 50 free. Christensen also swam the lead leg of four of Virginia's winning relay teams at the league meet.

At the NCAA Championships, Christensen finished fourth in the 100 back and fifth in the 200 back in addition to being a member of four of Virginia's All-America relay teams. A psychology major, Christensen served as a team captain for the 2009-10 season and was selected, along with teammate Jenna Harris (St. Louis, Mo.), for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, a postgraduate scholarship granted by the conference.

The Cavalier women were represented by 10 student-athletes on the All-ACC Academic Team, the most of any school in the conference. Freshman Christine Olson (Gilbert, Ariz.), sophomore Kelly Flynn (The Woodlands, Texas), juniors Katya Bachrouche (Farmington Hills, Mich), Ellie Freeman (Englewood, Colo.), Kristen Moores (Gaithersburg, Md.) and Liz Shaw (Richmond, Va.) and seniors Christensen, Harris, Katherine McDonnell (Culpeper, Va.) and Jen Narum (Pleasanton, Calif.) were each named to the squad.

The Virginia men placed four student-athletes on the All-ACC Academic Team, including seniors Daniel Johnson (Concord, N.C.) and Garrett Wren (Richmond, Va.) and juniors Scot Robison (Charlotte, N.C.) and Taylor Smith (Saratoga, Calif.).