clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Virginia Captures 10th ACC Crown in 11 Years

Rowing Champions, courtesy the ACCVirginia, the nation's third-ranked Rowing team, swept all four events to recapture their 10th Atlantic Coast Conference title in the 11-year history of the ACC Rowing Championship, at the 11th Annual ACC Rowing Championships held Saturday on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. It was the first time the Cavaliers swept all four events in the ACC Championships for since 2007.  The Hoos defeated host Clemson, the defending ACC Champions and the nation's 13th-ranked Rowing team, who placed second in every event.

Virginia was led by its First Varsity Eight boat composed of coxswain Sidney Thorsten (Atlanta, Ga.), and rowers Jennifer Cromwell (Bellvue, Wash.), Katrin Reinert (Stuttgart, Germany), Desiree Burns (Poughkeepsie, N. Y.), Kristine O'Brien (Massapequa Park, N.Y.), Martha Kuzzy (Minneapolis, Minn.), Helen Tompkins (Friendswood, Tex.), Nora Phillips (Arlington, Va.) and Summers Nelson (Kansas City, Mo.).

UVa's First Varsity Eight posted a time of 6:34.2 to finish first ahead of Clemson (6:45.8), Duke (6:56.5), Miami (7:02.6), Boston College (7:05.4) and North Carolina (7:22.5) to clinch to title for the Cavaliers. Virginia's First Varsity Eight Boat was later voted as the ACC Crew of the Year by the league's head coaches.

Virginia's Second Varsity Eight Boat captured its race with a time of 6:59.4 to defeat Clemson (7:12.2), Duke (7:23.9), Boston College (7:34.8) and North Carolina (7:44.9). The Second Varsity Eight boat was composed of coxswain Christine Candland (Greenwich, Conn.), and rowers Victoria Burke, Lauren Shook (Grosse Point Park, Mich.), Lauren Hutchins (North Vancouver, Can.), Marie Long (Frederick, Md.), Keziah Beall (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Christine Roper (Reading, Jamaica), Claudia Blandford Winnipeg, Can.) and Inge Janssen (Voorburg, The Netherlands).,

The Cavaliers Novice Eight captured its race with a time 6:49.4, ahead of Clemson (6:59.3), North Carolina (7:23.7) and Boston College (8:14.6). The Cavaliers Novice Eight was composed of coxswain Erin Friedlaner (Centreville, Va.), and rowers Eric Metcalf (Knoxville, Tenn.), Allison Lyons (Reading, Mass.), Sandy Suhling (Stafford, Va.), Susanne Grainger (London, Ontario, Can.), Molly Schwoebel (Crozet, Va.), Ainsley Lastner (Devon, Pa.), Ann Reid (Midlothian, Va.) and Taylor Levine (Margate, N.J.).

Virginia's First Varsity Four also captured its race with a time of 7:08.1 to outdistance Clemson (7:19.6), Duke (7:40.9), Boston College (7:44.5), North Carolina (7:47.0) and Miami (8:11.6). Neither Miami nor Duke competed in the First Varsity Four. Virginia's First Varsity Four was composed of coxswain Sarah Pichardo (Clifton, Va.) and rowers Mackenzie Leahy (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), Hunter Terry (Greenwich, Conn.), Ruth Retzinger (Stuttgart, Germany) and Sarah Borchelt (Boston, Mass.)