clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sinead Farrelly named to 2010 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

The ACC, with a total of eight selections, is the league with the most representatives among the list of 45 female athletes named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2010 season. Virginia, ranked preseason No. 17, places one player to the list: senior Sinead Farrelly. The midfielder was named a Hermann Trophy semifinalist last season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by NCAA Division I coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Farelly, a second team NSCAA All-American and first team All-ACC selection last season, started all 22 games last season -- in fact, she has started every game while at Virginia -- 68 for 68. She led the team in scoring with eight goals and eight assists for 24 points, which placed her ont he second team Top Drawer Soccer Team of the Season. She was the ACC Player of the Week for the week of November 3, 2009, and was named the Offensive MVP of the Sun Devil Desert Classic.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 7, 2011, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.