clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mike London Named Finalist for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Virginia Head Coach Mike London has been selected as one of 10 FBS Finalists for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, the organization announced yesterday. The Award recognizes the top coach for each of the FCS, Division-II and Division-III categories.

"Each of the 25 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalists is an example of what it means to be a true leader both on and off the field," said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame. "They inspire excellence on the field, commitment to academics, and dedication to one's community."

The ten Division I FBS finalists are:

Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University
Brady Hoke, University of Michigan
Mark Hudspeth, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Mike London, University of Virginia
Les Miles, Louisiana State University
Bobby Petrino, University of Arkansas
Mark Richt, University of Georgia
Nick Saban, University of Alabama
Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

"Through the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, college football fans are able to help identify and salute inspirational coaching leaders across the nation," said Greg Gordon, Liberty Mutual senior vice president, Consumer Marketing. "Each year, we ask fans to vote for the coaches who best exemplify the award's pillars - sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence. Each of these 25 coaches does just that, through actions on the field as well as providing leadership to their student athletes and service to their communities."

Fans can visit between December 6 and December 22 to vote daily among the finalists in each division. Selection committees of more than 50 College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches - including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott, Archie Griffin - and the national college football media, such as Kirk Herbstreit, Stewart Mandel and Tim Brando, will also cast votes for the winners to ensure coaches are evaluated fairly and measured against the specific values of responsibility and integrity. Winners are ultimately determined using the following voting weight: Fans 20 percent, College Football Hall of Fame 55 percent, and Media 25 percent.

Liberty Mutual will announce the four winners the morning of the BCS Championship game, January 9, 2012, in New Orleans. Each winner receives a $50,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to the charity or charities of his choice, as well as a $20,000 scholarship grant in their name to their school's alumni association. Since 2006, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award has celebrated the work of 17 winning coaches by donating more than $1.2 million to over 80 charities and college alumni scholarship funds across the country.