clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stanwick named ACC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year; Briggs, LaPierre join him on All-ACC team

Virginia placed three players on the 2011 All-ACC Men's Lacrosse Team, including the 2011 ACC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year in junior attackman Steele Stanwick. Joining Stanwick are junior midfielder Colin Briggs and sophomore midfielder Chris LaPierre.

Stanwick ranks fifth nationally with 1.91 assists per game and seventh with 4.0 points per game. The Baltimore, Md. native also ranks No. 30 nationally with 2.09 goals per game and has tallied two game-winning overtime goals this season (Stony Brook and North Carolina) to help lead the nation's top scoring offense (13.0 goals per game). In addition, the two-time All-Conference selection was named the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2009.

Stanwick is the first Virginia player to have earned this honor since Chris Rotelli in 2003. He is only the second player in UVa history to have been named both ACC Freshman of the Year and an ACC Player of the Year - Michael Watson is the other in 1997.

Briggs had previously been honored as the ACC Player of the Week after his career-high five points against North Carolina. He is third on the team with 27 points over 20 goals and seven assists.

LaPierre has been all over the midfield, having seen time at second midfield, faceoff midfield, defensive midfielder and faceoff specialist. He averages 5.83 ground balls per game, ranking him 14th nationally.

Along with Virginia, Maryland and North Carolina each had three players named to the team, while Duke had two. North Carolina's Nicky Galasso was named the ACC Freshman of the Year, while Duke's John Danowski was named ACC Coach of the Year.

Virginia and Duke are scheduled for a rematch this Friday in the first round of the ACC Championships in Durham.