clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Cavaliers Make 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List

The Virginia lacrosse team placed three men and three women on the 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List. The men's side is highlighted by 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy winner senior Steele Stanwick, who is joined by senior midfielder Colin Briggs and junior midfielder Chris LaPierre. The women's side includes senior attack Charlie Finnigan, senior midfielder Julie Gardner, and senior attack Josie Owen.

Steele Stanwick is one of the 2012 captains and is a preseason first team All-American by Face-Off Yearbook. Last year, he was third in the nation in assists per game and fourth in the nation in points per game. He was also the ACC Player of the Year.

Colin Briggs is also one of this year's captains. Last year, he was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Tournament. He racked up 41 points on 29 goals and 12 assists. He earned USILA second-team All-American honors.

Chris LaPierre led the team last season with 92 ground balls, earning him USILA third-team All-American and All-ACC honors.

Charlie Finnigan led the 2011 team with 43 goals and added 14 assists, 18 ground balls, seven draw controls and five caused turnovers. On a completely unrelated note, she is the team's first-ever international player, hailing from England.

Julie Gardner, one of the 2012 team captains, has started every game of her collegiate career. She earned third-team All-American honors last season, and was also named to the 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List. She led the 2011 team with 60 points coming from 33 goals and 27 assists. She also contributed 27 ground balls, 14 draw controls and 13 caused turnovers

Josie Owen is another of the 2012 team captains, having scored 40 goals and 16 assists last season, including a goal in every single regular-season game.

Both the men and the women will be in action this Saturday. The ladies take on Loyola (Md.) in Charlottesville at 2:30 p.m., while the guys travel to Philadelphia to take on No. 20 Drexel at 2:00 p.m.