clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 All-ACC Teams Released: Virginia's Mike Scott earns First-Team Honors, Jontel Evans earns All-Defensive Team

Virginia's Mike Scott and Jontel Evans both earned conference-wide honors today.
Virginia's Mike Scott and Jontel Evans both earned conference-wide honors today.

The ACC released its All-ACC teams today, and to nobody's surprise, Virginia's Mike Scott has earned first-team honors. He joins a flurry of players from the state of North Carolina, and received the second highest number of points. Meanwhile, the league media recognized Jontel Evans' stellar defensive play all season, as the junior guard was named to the All-Defensive team.

The senior finished the regular season averaging 17.9 points and 8.3 rebounds per game. His points per game is good for second in the conference, behind only Maryland's Terrell Stoglin (21.2). North Carolina's Tyler Zeller is down at fifth with "just" 16.3.

Scott leads the conference in True Shooting Percentage, which takes into account not only field goals but also free throws, at 63.1%, good for 53rd in the country. He also leads the conference in field goal shooting percentage at 57.3%. For much of the season, that number had been hovering above 60%.

He also finished the regular season with a career high 35 points against Maryland, becoming the first Cavalier to score that many points since Sean Singletary scored 41 in 2008 over Miami.

Jontel Evans, thankfully only a junior this year, is fifth in the conference in assists, averaging 3.8 per game. He also averages only 2.4 turnovers per game, for an assist-to-turnover ratio of 1.58, good for eighth in the conference. He also grabs 1.5 steals per game. In addition to his defensive prowess, Evans shoots 47.5% from the field, averaging 7.3 points per game.

Here are the full All-ACC rosters:

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (186)
Mike Scott, Virginia (184)
John Henson, North Carolina (170)
Austin Rivers, Duke (164)
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (153)

Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (151)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (131)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (127)
C.J. Leslie, NC State (99)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (70)

Seth Curry, Duke (65)
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (57)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (52)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (45)
Mason Plumlee, Duke (43)

Bernard James, Florida State (42); Andre Young, Clemson (35); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (26); Durand Scott, Miami (26).

John Henson, North Carolina (61)
Bernard James, Florida State (54)
Jontel Evans, Virginia (39)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (31)
Andre Young, Clemson (29)

Austin Rivers, Duke (61)
Ryan Anderson, Boston College (61)
Dorian Finney-Smith, Virginia Tech (53)
Shane Larkin, Miami (43)
Nick Faust, Maryland (41)