clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Baseball Regional Sites: UVa to Stay in Charlottesville

Virginia is one of sixteen schools to be named a Regional host site.


With just one week to go before the Regionals en route to the 2014 College World Series, the Virginia Cavaliers will look to rebound from an underwhelming ACC Tournament performance. The NCAA announced tonight the sixteen regional sites for the NCAA Baseball Championship.

Along with Virginia, the sixteen sites are as follows:

Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (44-14-1)
Bloomington, Indiana - Indiana (42-13)
Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (44-13)
Coral Gables, Florida - Miami (Fla.) (41-17)
Corvallis, Oregon - Oregon State (42-12)
Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (42-16)
Fort Worth, Texas - TCU (42-15)
Gainesville, Florida - Florida (40-21)
Houston, Texas - Rice (41-18)
Lafayette, Louisiana - Louisiana-Lafayette (53-7)
Louisville, Kentucky - Louisville (45-15)
Nashville, Tennessee - Vanderbilt (41-18)
Oxford, Mississippi - Mississippi (41-18)
San Luis Obispo, California - Cal Poly (45-10)
Stillwater, Oklahoma - Oklahoma State (45-16)
Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (43-15)

This is the eighth time Virginia has been selected as a host site -- the fifth consecutive year. UVa and South Carolina are the only two schools that have hosted in each of the last five years. Six other schools -- Florida State, Indiana, LSU, Louisville, Oregon State and Vanderbilt -- all hosted last year as well.

Virginia is considered to be a lock to be a national seed, which would mean that if they advance past the Charlottesville Regionals, the team would also host the Super Regional.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced Monday at Noon ET. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on June 2 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.