clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida State could join Virginia, 18 others in elite draft club

Seminoles may become 20th school with first overall draft picks in two major sports

Phil Sears-USA TODAY Sports

The consensus around the NFL internet seems to be that Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will be the Tampa Bay Buccaneers' selection with the first overall pick in the 2015 NFL Draft.

If that happens, Florida State will join a club with only 19 other members, including the University of Virginia: Schools that have produced first overall draft picks in two of America's three major sports leagues.

Despite FSU's dominance of the college football landscape in the 1990s, the Seminoles have never had a player taken with the first overall pick. With the New York Mets' selection of pitcher Paul Wilson in the 1994 MLB amateur draft, Winston has FSU perched on the doorstep of history.

Virginia's first overall picks are "Bullet" Bill Dudley in the 1942 NFL Draft to the Pittsburgh Steelers, and Ralph Sampson in the 1983 NBA Draft to the Houston Rockets. Danny Hultzen also went 2nd overall to the Seattle Mariners in the 2011 MLB Draft. Chris Long's 2nd overall selection in the 2008 NFL Draft makes him one of nine Cavaliers to be picked in the NFL's first ten picks.

Other ACC schools to complete the two-fer are North Carolina-Chapel Hill (MLB and NBA), Miami (MLB and NFL), NC State (NBA and NFL), Notre Dame (NBA and NFL), and Syracuse (NBA and NFL).

And for the record, UCLA's trifecta was Gerrit Cole (MLB, 2011), Troy Aikman (NFL, 1989), and Lew Alcindor and Bill Walton (NBA, 1969 and 1974 respectively). LSU's was Ben McDonald (MLB, 1989), Billy Cannon and Jamarcus Russell (NFL, 1960 and 2007 respectively), and Shaquille O'Neal (NBA, 1992).

The table below shows each of the 19 programs to complete at least the two-fer, with the first player taken first overall listed in each league. ACC teams are in bold.





UCLA Gerrit Cole (2011) Lew Alcindor (1969) Troy Aikman (1989)
LSU Ben McDonald (1989) Shaquille O'Neal (1992) Billy Cannon (1960)
Florida State Paul Wilson (1994) Jameis Winston? (2015?)
Indiana Walt Bellamy (1961) Corbett Davis (1938)
Kentucky John Wall (2010) Tim Couch (1999)
Miami Pat Burrell (1998) Vinny Testaverde (1987)
Michigan Cazzie Russell (1966) Tom Harmon (1941)
Michigan State Magic Johnson (1979) Bubba Smith (1967)
NC State David Thompson (1975) Mario Williams (2006)
Nebraska Darin Erstad (1995) Sam Francis (1937)
Notre Dame Austin Carr (1971) Angelo Bertelli (1944)
Ohio State Greg Oden (2007) Tom Cousineau (1979)
Oklahoma Blake Griffin (2009) Lee Roy Salmon (1976)
Oregon Dave Roberts (1972) George Shaw (1955)
Stanford Mark Appel (2013) Bobby Garrett (1954)
Syracuse Derrick Coleman (1990) Ernie Davis (1962)
UNC-Chapel Hill BJ Surhoff (1985) Brad Daugherty (1986)
Utah Bill McGill (1962) Alex Smith (2005)
Vanderbilt David Price (2007) Bill Wade (1952)
Virginia Ralph Sampson (1983) Bill Dudley (1942)