clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ryan Shane will play for the NCAA Singles title

The junior tennis player will attempt to bring home Virginia's third men's tennis singles national title today at 1:00 pm EDT.

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Junior Ryan Shane avenged a regular season loss to Notre Dame's Quentin Monaghan Sunday, 4 & 1, to claim a spot in the NCAA Men's Singles championship. Shane will have to avenge another loss to win the title, as he faces freshman Noah Rubin of Wake Forest. Rubin beat Shane when their teams met in the final of the ACC Tournament, 7-6(5), 6-3. Shane has won 8 straight matches since the loss to Rubin.

Monaghan scored an early break of serve against Shane in the first set, but Shane managed to break back, and used the momentum to roll through the rest of the match. Shane's match was the first of the four semifinal matches to conclude (the women's semifinals were being played at the same time).

Rubin defeated Virginia sophomore Thai-Son Kwiatkowski 6-4, 6-4 to advance to the final. Rubin is trying to become the first freshman to win the singles title since Devin Britton accomplished the feat in 2009 for Mississippi. Kwiatkowski finished his season with 44 singles wins, which ties the Virginia record for wins in a season. Virginia great Somdev Devvarman also won 44 matches in his senior year.

Shane's appearance in the final marks the sixth time a Virginia men's tennis player has advanced to the singles final. Brian Vahaly reached the final in 2001, losing to Georgia's Matias Boeker. Devvarman reached three straight finals in 2007, 2008 and 2009. He lost the first to Benjamin Kohlloeffel of UCLA, but won in 2008 against John Isner of Georgia, and defeated Tennessee's J.P. Smith in 2009 for his second NCAA title. Jarmere Jenkins reached the final in 2013 as well, losing to Ohio State's Blaz Rola.

The championship match will be shown at the following link starting at 1:00 pm EDT: Live Scoring and Video