clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Game time for Virginia basketball game at George Washington released

New, 6 comments

Virginia will kick off the men's portion of the College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon.

Amber Searls-USA TODAY Sports

The first away game (ok, probably the first away game) of the 2015-16 UVa men's basketball season will be part of one of the more unique traditions of the opening weeks of the college basketball calendar.

The College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon on ESPN is just what it sounds like, but it's more than just a bunch of games in a row. For over 24 hours, the ESPN family of networks broadcasts college games from around the country. Relax, UVa fans, you won't have to get up for a 6 a.m. start or anything like that. The Cavs, currently ranked No. 4 in ESPN's preseason poll, will visit George Washington on Monday, Nov. 16 for a 7:30 p.m. tip from the Charles E. Smith Center in Washington, D.C. The game will be broadcast on ESPN2.

UVa is 25-23 all-time against GW and has a seven-game winning streak against the Colonials, including a 59-42 win last year at JPJ. It'll be just the third meeting between the schools since 1985. Virginia hasn't lost to GW since 1974.

Wahoos in the D.C. area interested in attending the game should know that the Smith Center is Metro-accessible; it's three blocks south of the Foggy Bottom station and the main entrance is located on 22nd Street NW. Single-game tickets are not yet available.

Here's an updated schedule grid with what we know so far. The rest of the non-conference schedule, if not the whole thing, should be released in the next week or two.

Date/time (All times Eastern) Opponent Location TV
Friday, Nov. 13/TBA Morgan State JPJ TBA
Monday, Nov. 16/7:30 p.m.
George Washington Washington, D.C. ESPN2
Thursday, Nov. 19/TBA
Bradley (Charleston Classic) Charleston, S.C. TBA
Friday, Nov. 20/TBA Seton Hall or Long Beach State (Charleston Classic) Charleston, S.C. TBA
Sunday, Nov. 22/TBA Ole Miss, George Mason, Oklahoma State, or Towson (Charleston Classic) Charleston, S.C. TBA
Tuesday, Dec. 1/7:30 p.m. Ohio State (ACC/Big Ten Challenge) Columbus, Ohio ESPN
Saturday, Dec. 5/TBA William & Mary JPJ TBA
Tuesday, Dec. 8/TBA West Virginia (Jimmy V Classic) New York, N.Y. (Madison Square Garden) ESPN
Saturday, Dec. 19/TBA Villanova JPJ TBA
Tuesday, Dec. 22/9 p.m.
California JPJ ESPN2
Wednesday, Dec. 30/TBA Oakland JPJ TBA
Monday, Feb. 15/7 p.m. NC State JPJ ESPN
Monday, Feb. 22/7 p.m. Miami Coral Gables, Fla. ESPN