clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ACC Announces New Baseball Tournament Format

New, comments

From now on, 12 teams will play in the ACC Baseball Tournament

College World Series - Vanderbilt v Virginia - Game One Photo by Peter Aiken/Getty Images

The ACC announced a major overhaul of the future ACC Baseball Tournaments on Thursday afternoon. Leaving behind the 10-team, 2 four team pool format for a much different 12-team, 4 pool format.

There will no longer be a play in game as 12 of the 14 teams in the ACC will make the ACC Tournament each year.

The Atlantic and Coastal Division Champions will automatically get the 1 and 2 seeds, determined by ACC winning percentage. The next 10 teams will be seeded filling out the rest of the tournament.

The twelve teams will be divided into four-three team pools and will play round robin until Saturday, where the 4 pool winners will play in the semifinals, with the winners of each semifinal advancing to the final on Sunday.

This will somewhat hearken back to the days of the double elimination format the ACC Tournament used to employ. Each team will be guaranteed at least two games. This will also give the conference a chance to showcase more teams than the 10 we had seen the last few years.

Here is how it will look: