clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Virginia Field Hockey racks up ACC accolades as Vittese repeats as Offensive Player of the Year

Hoos also claim ACC Freshman and Coach of the Year awards.

Hoos won the regular season this year.
UVA Media Relations

The #4 Virginia Field Hockey team picked up three of the four top awards as the ACC announced their season accolades today. Fourth year Tara Vittese repeated as ACC Offensive Player of the Year as her teammate Pien Dicke was named ACC Freshman of the Year. UVA head coach Michele Madison earned ACC Coach of the Year for leading Virginia to a 15-3 overall record (5-1 ACC) and a regular season conference title.

Vittese is the two-time reigning NFHCA National Player of the Year and is the first ACC player to repeat ACC Offensive Player of the Year since Maryland’s Katie O’Donnell did it in 2009. She is the first Virginia player to repeat in the honor. In the regular season, Vittese scored 1.33 goals and 3.44 points per game, both good enough for second in the country (UConn’s Charlotte Veitner is first in both categories). Vittese led the ACC in goals (24), points (62), and assists (14) for the season.

Dicke, from Den Haag, Netherlands, had an impressive first year campaign with 21 goals and 48 points, good for second in the ACC behind her teammate. She is the third Wahoo - along with Lucy Hyams (2013) and Paige Selenski (2008) - to win the award since 2007.

Both Vittese and Dicke earned a spot on the All-ACC first team, with Vittese making her fourth appearance in four years on the team. Dicke is the lone freshman to make first team All-ACC this season.

Second year defender Dominique Van Slooten earned second team All-ACC honors.

The Hoos are the #1 seed in the upcoming ACC tournament and will face either Wake Forest or North Carolina Friday at noon. Games will be available online via ACC Network Extra.

Check out the full honors below.

2017 ACC Field Hockey Individual Honors

Offensive Player of the Year – Tara Vittese, Virginia

Defensive Player of the Year – Ashley Hoffman, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year – Pien Dicke, Virginia

Coach of the Year – Michele Madison, Virginia

2017 All-ACC Field Hockey Teams

First Team

Alyssa Chillano, Sr.,D, Duke @

Margaux Paolino, So., M, Duke

Nicole Woods, Sr., M, Louisville #

Ayeisha McFerran, Jr., GK, Louisville @

Eva van't Hoog, Jr., M, North Carolina @

Ashley Hoffman, Jr., D, North Carolina

Lies Lagerweij, Sr., D, Syracuse @

Pien Dicke, Fr., F, Virginia

Tara Vittese, Sr., M, Virginia %

Jule Grashoff, Jr., F, Wake Forest @

Nicola Pluta, So., F, Wake Forest @

Second Team

Ymke Rose Gote, Jr., M, Boston College @

Frederique Haverhals, Jr., D, Boston College @

Rose Tynan, Jr., F, Duke

Alexa Mackintire, Sr., M, Duke

Sammi Steele, Jr., GK, Duke

Taylor Stone, Jr., D, Louisville

Minout Mink, So., F, Louisville @

Malin Evert, Jr., M, North Carolina @

Roos Weers, Jr., D, Syracuse #

Laura Hurff, Sr., M, Syracuse #

Dominique van Slooten, So., D, Virginia

@ Two-time honoree, # Three-time honoree, % Four-time honoree