clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Virginia Baseball unveils inaugural Hall of Fame class

Hoos name 15 influential alumni in first class.

College World Series - Virginia v Vanderbilt - Game One Photo by Peter Aiken/Getty Images

The Cavaliers’ baseball program announced their inaugural Virginia Baseball Hall of Fame class over the course the day on Wednesday.

To make a splash, the first class included 15 members ranging all the way from Eppa Rixey, who played for the Cavaliers from 1912 to 1914, to Tyler Wilson and Danny Hultzen, who played in the orange and blue until 2011.

Coming into the announcement, the prerequisites for induction were unclear, but UVa announced with the press release that “In order to be considered for hall of fame induction, former student-athletes needed to be five years removed from exhaustion of college eligibility. Players and coaches were selected based on accolades earned as a player or coach while at Virginia, distinguishing careers in amateur or professional baseball and/or significant contributions through work or service made to the university.”

The 15 former players and coaches to be inducted were: OF Brian Buchanan (1992-94), SS Mike Cubbage (1969-1971), LHP/1B Sean Doolittle (2005-2007), RHP Seth Greisinger (1994-1996), LHP Danny Hultzen (2009-2011), LHP/1B Joe Koshansky, LHP Javier Lopez (1996-1998). SS Bill Narleski (1984-1987), SS Mark Reynolds (2002-2004), LHP Eppa Rixey (1912-1914), RHP Jacob Thompson (2006-2008), Coach Jim West (1962-1980), RHP Tyler Wilson (2008-2011), Coach Dennis Womack (1981-2003), and 3B Ryan Zimmerman (2003-2005).

The first HOF class in its entirety! #wahoowa

A post shared by Virginia Baseball (@uvabaseball) on

The inaugural class will be inducted at this year’s Step Up to the Plate event on January 27, 2018.