clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Duo of Virginia Lacrosse players make Tewaaraton watch list

Williams, Behr make initial list for top award in college lacrosse.

Williams one of two Virginia players on the initial watch list.
Inside Lacrosse Photo: Jaclyn Borowski

Yesterday, the Tewaaraton Foundation released their initial watch list for both the men’s and women’s 2017 college lacrosse season. Virginia had one player on each list with fourth year Zed Williams representing the men and third year Kasey Behr representing the women.

The Tewaaraton is awarded to the nation’s top player at the end of the season. Maryland’s Taylor Cummings won the last three straight women’s Tewaaraton awards (and thankfully graduated...she was insane good) and Brown’s Dylan Malloy (coached by now-UVA head coach Lars Tiffany) took home the award for the men in 2016. The Hoos have had some success with the award as Virginia’s Amy Appelt won the honor in 2004, and the men’s program is the only team with three different Tewaaraton recipients (Chris Rotelli 2003, Matt Ward 2006, Steele Stanwick 2011).

Williams has kicked off his senior campaign with a bang, really embracing his role as an attackman with a team-high 20 points (10 goals, 10 assists) through four games this season. He’s the reigning ACC Offensive Player of the Week thanks to big performances against Siena and Penn. The Hoos take on High Point tonight at 7pm, which will be broadcast by ACC Network Extra.

Behr is off to a bit of a slow start in Virginia’s three games this season with three goals, an assist and eight draw controls (good for second on the team). She had 38 goals and three assists last season for a team-high (tied) 41 points. Behr and the Hoos play William and Mary tomorrow night at 7pm, which will be broadcast by W&M.

UPDATE: I erroneously stated no Virginia women’s player had won the award, but Amy won in 2004! This has been reflected above.