clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Virginia Football alumni Shawn Moore and Anthony Poindexter nominated for College Football Hall of Fame

The two would join other Cavalier legends in Atlanta.

Anthony Poindexter

Former Virginia Cavalier football icons Shawn Moore and Anthony Poindexter have been nominated for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation (PFF) announced on Thursday.

The two are arguably the greatest ever at UVa at their respective positions. Moore, a quarterback from 1988-90, is second behind Matt Schaub for career passing yards (6,629 to Schaub’s 7,502) and touchdowns (55 to Schaub’s 56) at Virginia. However, Moore was under center for one of the most successful three-year runs in UVa football history. The Hoos went 7-4 in 1988 before going 10-3 in 1989, winning their first ACC championship and going to a New Year’s Day bowl for the first time in the process. The Cavaliers would go on to earn a berth in the Sugar Bowl and attain the first No. 1 ranking in program history in 1990. That year, Moore led the nation in passing yardage (2,262) and finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting while being named a first-team All-American. His No. 12 is retired, and he generated more touchdowns (83) and yards of total offense (7,897) than anyone else in UVa history.

Poindexter played safety at Virginia from 1995-98. In his first year, he made an immediate impact by having a hand - literally - in saving the win against Florida State in 1995.

He ranks in a tie for 7th place on UVa’s career interceptions list with 12, and led the team in that category with four each in 1996 (tied with Stephen Phelan) and 1997. His 342 career tackles are good enough 11th in school history. He was known for his vicious hits as he roamed the defensive backfield, and if not for a knee injury his fourth year, he very well could have gone down as one of the all-time great safeties in the history of the game - professional as well as collegiate. He’s the only player in Virginia history to be named as a first-team All-American twice, in 1997 and ‘98. Despite missing the last five games of the season in ‘98, he was named ACC Defensive Player of the Year as well.

Virginia's other inductees in the Hall include players Jim Dombrowski, Bill Dudley, Joe Palumbo and Tom Scott, and coaches Frank Murray, Earle "Greasy" Neale and George Welsh.

Best of luck to Shawn and Anthony!