clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bryce Perkins headlines a night of winning as the 2018 Dudley Award recipient

Perkins gives the Hoos back-to-back Dudley Award winners for the second time in school history.

NCAA Football: Virginia at Georgia Tech Adam Hagy-USA TODAY Sports

As the Virginia Cavaliers prepare to hit the road for the Belk Bowl in a little over a week, some members of the squad were recognized by the Touchdown club of Richmond. Quarterback Bryce Perkins won the big award of the evening as he was named the 2018 recipient of the Dudley Award, given to the commonwealth of Virginia’s top Division I football player.

Bryce Perkins beat out JMU’s Jimmy Moreland and Virginia Tech’s Ricky Walker for the award.

Perkins is the ninth Virginia player to win the award and gave the Hoos back-to-back winners for the second time in school history after Micah Kiser won the trophy last year. Shawn Moore and Matt Blundin went back-to-back in 1990 and 1991, and other UVA recipients include Mike Frederick (1994), Tiki Barber (1996), Anthony Poindexter (1997), Billy McMullen (2001), and Chris Long (2007).

In his first season with the Hoos, Perkins was outstanding. He amassed 3,314 all-purpose yards and accounted for 31 touchdowns on the season as he was a legitimate threat through the air and with his legs. For the year, Perkins completed 203-of-318 pass attempts (64%) for 2,472 yards and 22 touchdowns. On the ground, the transfer added 842 yards and nine touchdowns. He averaged 276.2 yards and over two touchdowns per game for the Hoos.

Perkins wasn’t the only Wahoo recognized at the event as Chris Peace (Linebacker of the Year), Bryce Hall (Defensive Back of the Year), Olamide Zaccheaus (Offensive End of the Year) all won for their respective positions. Punter Lester Coleman was also named the Co-Humanitarian Award winner.

Congratulations to all the winners!