clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Cavaliers named to All-ACC Academic Men’s Basketball Team

Devon Hall and Nigel Johnson earn honor for work in the classroom.

NCAA Basketball: Virginia at Pittsburgh Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced the 2017-18 All-ACC Academic Men’s Basketball Team Wednesday afternoon, with two Virginia Cavaliers earning the honor. Devon Hall and graduate transfer Nigel Johnson, both in Higher Education programs, made the team that recognizes performance in the classroom.

To be eligible for the team, the, “...student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.”

North Carolina’s Luke Maye won the Skip Prosser Award, given to the top student athlete in the conference. Virginia’s Jerome Meyinsse won the award in 2010.

2017-18 All-ACC Academic Team:

  • Deng Adel, Jr., Louisville
  • Brandon Alston, Gr., Georgia Tech
  • Grayson Allen, Sr., Duke
  • Marvin Bagley III, Fr., Duke
  • Tyus Battle, So., Syracuse
  • Marcus Carr, Fr., Pittsburgh
  • Marek Dolezaj, Fr., Syracuse
  • Braxton Beverly, Fr., NC State
  • Khameron Davis, Fr., Pittsburgh
  • Gabe DeVoe, Sr., Clemson
  • Trent Forrest, So., Florida State
  • Allerik Freeman, Gr., NC State
  • Devon Hall, Gr., Virginia
  • Sam Hunt, Gr., NC State
  • Nigel Johnson, Gr., Virginia
  • Chris Lykes, Fr., Miami
  • Mfinodu Kabengele, Fr., Florida State
  • V.J. King, So., Louisville
  • Luke Maye, Jr., North Carolina
  • Jordan Nwora, Fr., Louisville
  • Rex Pflueger, Jr., Notre Dame
  • Ray Spalding, Jr., Louisville
  • Shamiel Stevenson, Fr., Pittsburgh
  • Parker Stewart, Fr., Pittsburgh
  • Elijah Thomas, Jr., Clemson
  • Dejan Vasiljevic, So., Miami
  • Lonnie Walker IV, Fr., Miami
  • Devin Wilson, Sr., Virginia Tech
  • Jared Wilson-Frame, Jr., Pittsburgh
  • Keyshawn Woods, Sr., Wake Forest