clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cavaliers Rack Up Awards: Bennett Coach of the Year, Hunter and Guy 1st Team All-ACC

NCAA Basketball: Louisville at Virginia Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The ACC season awards were announced on Monday and the Virginia Cavaliers raked them in.

Duke’s Zion Williamson won the ACC’s Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year award, but enough about him.

UVa’s own, Tony Bennett won the ACC’s Coach of the Year award for the fourth time in his tenure at UVa after winning the award in ‘10, ‘14, and ‘15. The award is somewhat surprising given the preseason expectations UVa had coming into the season, but with UVa winning their second straight ACC regular season championship after going 16-2 in league play, Bennett is more than deserving.

De’Andre Hunter was the other Cavalier to win an individual award bringing in the Defensive Player of the Year award. UVa allowed the fewest points per game in the country and had the best field goal percentage against, so it is no surprise that Hunter won the award.

Hunter joins the likes of Isiah Wilkins, Malcolm Brogdon, and Darion Atkins as former Cavaliers to win the award.

Rounding out the awards given out were the All-ACC teams. To no surprise, De’Andre Hunter was named to the All-ACC First Team and received 302 of a possible 350 votes.

Joining Hunter on the First Team was Kyle Guy, who received 231 votes and makes his second All-ACC First Team in as many years.

Hunter is the fifth player under Coach Bennett to be named All-ACC First Team after Mike Scott (‘12), Joe Harris (‘13), Malcolm Brogdon (‘14, ‘15, and ‘16), and of course Guy.

Joining Hunter and Guy on the First Team was Zion Williamson and RJ Barrett from the Duke Blue Devils and Cam Johnson of the North Carolina Tar Heels.

In somewhat surprising news, Ty Jerome was not named to the All-ACC First Team, but did make the Second team after receiving 177 votes. Jerome was named the the All-ACC Third Team last year.

The Hoos await the winner of the Clemson Tigers vs. N.C. State Wolfpack game on Thursday in the ACC Tournament quarterfinals.