clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC Media Releases 2015-2016 All-ACC Basketball Teams

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Two Virginia Cavaliers were named to the 2015-2016 All-ACC teams, headlined by Malcolm Brogdon, who took home both Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, becoming the first player in the history of the awards to win both.

Brogdon was a unanimous selection for All-ACC honors, joined only by North Carolina's Brice Johnson. NC State's Cat Barber, Duke's Grayson Allen, and Clemson's Jaron Blossomgame rounded out the First Team. Virginia's Anthony Gill was named to the All-ACC Third Team for the second straight year. London Perrantes also received votes.

Brogdon picked up 38 of the 51 Player of the Year honors, while contender Johnson only picked up nine. Brogdon also earned 39 votes for Defensive Player of the Year.

Miami's Jim Larrañaga was named the ACC Coach of the Year with 24 votes, followed closely behind by Virginia Tech's Buzz Williams with 22. Virginia's Tony Bennett also picked up two votes.

The full All-Conference teams are below, and here's the link to STL's mock ballots. We accurately picked the entire first team correctly, as well as the Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Most Improved Player, and Sixth Man Award. We only missed the Coach of the Year honors, which we awarded to Virginia Tech's Buzz Williams.

All-Atlantic Coast Conference
First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 51 *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 51 *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 48 249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 47 247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 32 213

Second Team
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 8 155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami 6 136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame 3 130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke 4 129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville 1 90

Third Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech - 76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia - 70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame - 45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh - 37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami 3 35

Honorable Mention:
Justin Jackson, North Carolina; Tonye Jekiri, Miami; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia; Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.

All-ACC Freshman Team
Brandon Ingram, Duke *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 50
Malik Beasley, Florida State 49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest 28

All-ACC Defensive Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson 30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 27

ACC Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 1

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke 48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 1
Malik Beasley, Florida State 1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 1

ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larrañaga, Miami 24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech 22
Tony Bennett, Virginia 2
Roy Williams, North Carolina 1
Brad Brownell, Clemson 1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech 1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech 4
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech 1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina 19
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse 6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State 6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh 1

* Unanimous selection