clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-ACC Teams and Postseason Awards Announced: Virginia racks up three individual awards

From unranked to No. 1, everyone on this Virginia team deserves recognition.

NCAA Basketball: Virginia at VCU Amber Searls-USA TODAY Sports

The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its official 2017-2018 men’s basketball season award winners and All-ACC teams on Sunday afternoon. Senior Isaiah Wilkins was named the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, freshman De’Andre Hunter was named the Sixth Man of the Year, and head coach Tony Bennett was named the ACC Coach of the Year. And that’s just the individual titles.

Sophomore Kyle Guy was named to the All-ACC First Team. Senior Devon Hall was named to the All-ACC Second Team, while sophomore Ty Jerome was named to the All-ACC Third Team. For all three, these are their first all-conference honors.

In addition to Defensive Player of the Year honors, Wilkins was named to the All-Defensive team, his second time receiving such honors. Joining him is Hall, his first all-defensive recognition. Hall also received a single vote for ACC Player of the Year, which went to Duke’s Marvin Bagley III.

In addition to Sixth Man of the Year Honors, Hunter was also named to the All-Freshman team and was also the only person other than Marvin Bagley III to receive a vote for Rookie of the Year. Bagley took 56 of the possible 57 votes.

Big man Jack Salt received a single vote for Defensive Player of the Year.

The Virginia Cavaliers were picked by the ACC media to finish sixth in the conference. No one—not even this Streaking the Lawn staff—projected the Hoos to finish the season with the best record not just in the conference but in the country, as the only two loss team. Virginia exceeded all expectations, winning an ACC-record high 17 games in a season.

This is Tony Bennett’s ninth season with the Cavaliers and his third ACC Coach of the Year honors (2014, 2015). In 2015, he was also named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association National Coach of the Year after coaching the Hoos to back-to-back 16 ACC-win seasons, becoming the first school to do so.

The full voting breakout follows:

2018 Atlantic Coast Conference Post-Season Honors

First Team
Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 280*
Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 273
Luke Maye, North Carolina, 246
Joel Berry II, North Carolina, 223
Kyle Guy, Virginia, 168

Second Team
Tyus Battle, Syracuse, 159
Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 143
Devon Hall, Virginia, 129
Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 126
Justin Robinson, Virginia Tech, 123

Third Team
Grayson Allen, Duke, 119
Matt Farrell, Notre Dame, 89
Ty Jerome, Virginia, 67
Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech, 57
Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 54

Honorable Mention
Deng Adel, Louisville, 51
Ky Bowman, Boston College, 37
Lonnie Walker, Miami (FL), 30
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest, 23
Markell Johnson, NC State, 21
Ray Spalding, Louisville, 19
Allerik Freeman, NC State, 18
Theo Pinson, North Carolina, 14
Terance Mann, Florida State, 12
Gabe DeVoe, Clemson, 12

All-Freshman Team
Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 57*
Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 56
Lonnie Walker, Miami, 51
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 33
Oshae Brissett, Syracuse, 33

All-Defensive Team
Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 49
Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 37
Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 34
Devon Hall, Virginia, 32
Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech, 25

Player of the Year
Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 37
Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 14
Luke Maye, North Carolina, 5
Devon Hall, Virginia, 1

Rookie of the Year
Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 56
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 1

Coach of the Year
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 47
Brad Brownell, Clemson, 8
Kevin Keatts, NC State, 2

Defensive Player of the Year
Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 42
Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 7
Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 3
Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech, 2
Jack Salt, Virginia, 1
Rex Pflueger, Notre Dame, 1
Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, 1

Most Improved Player
Luke Maye, North Carolina, 26
Frank Howard, Syracuse, 5
Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 5
Martinas Geben, Notre Dame, 5
Doral Moore, Wake Forest, 5
Kyle Guy, Virginia, 3
Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 3
Phil Cofer, Florida State, 2
Dewan Huell, Miami, 2
Ty Jerome, Virginia, 1

Sixth Man of the Year
De’Andre Hunter, Virginia, 39
Chris Clarke, Virginia Tech, 7
Chris Lykes, Miami, 5
Keyshawn Woods, Wake Forest, 3
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 2
Marques Bolden, Duke, 1

* - Unanimous selection